Hot Cocoa Delight

Today is rainy, chilly, and dark. Blech. I was having trouble getting motivated, until I realized the perfect weather for fall sweaters, pretty scarves, down comforters and HOT COCOA has arrived! I have a weakness for this creamy, warm treat…I mean, who doesn’t?! The generic everyday version is delish, but when it is homemade – hold me back!! The beautiful thing is that the ‘real deal’ requires few ingredients, is super quick and can be compared to nothing else. When it’s real, it’s real and the difference is clear. Trust me on this one, I’m an expert. :)

Below is my favorite go-to recipe. Enjoy, but be warned – once you try it there is no going back!

Creamy Hot Cocoa

Ingredients:

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3/4 cup sugar (I usually use less…add to taste!)

1 pinch salt

1/3 cup boiling water

3 cups whole milk

1/2 cup cream, plus more to add

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Combine the cocoa, salt and sugar with boiling water in a sauce pan. Bring to a low boil, stirring constantly, making sure not to scorch. Keep simmering for 2 minutes…keep stirring! Whisk in the 3 cups of milk and 1/2 cup of cream and heat until very hot and steaming, but do NOT bring to a boil. Remove from the heat and add vanilla extract. Divide between 4 mugs and add extra cream to cool to drinking temperature. Add marshmallows…go big or go home, right??

Happy Fall!! I hope this delightful treat brings you some warmth and fun in the coming (chilly!) months!

P.S. I may or may not be currently enjoying the mug pictured above…I mean, someone had to do it.

2 thoughts on “Hot Cocoa Delight

Leave a comment