Foodie Friday: Blueberry Muffins.

Happy Friday, all!! :) Today, I am sharing a recipe that was a part of my childhood and now makes a frequent appearance in my own home…blueberry muffins! I can still remember coming down our stairs into the kitchen as a little one and seeing my Mom pulling these out of the oven. The smell is spectacular as well – you should pretty much just sprint to your kitchen and make them immediately. :) The recipe is a little twist on the ordinary, in that it uses olive oil and half whole wheat flour, but I love the nutty flavor those additions add. Plus, now I can justify eating multiple in one sitting. Ha! I think there is something special about a basic recipe that uses REAL, everyday ingredients. Plus, they take about 20-25 minutes (total!) to make. A win-win! Enjoy and have a spectacular weekend! xo

Blueberry Muffins. Foodie Friday. Mary Neumann Photography.

Blueberry Muffins

(Makes approx. 12 small muffins, though I usually double it to get 16 larger ones.)

Ingredients:

1 Egg

1/2 cup of milk

3/4 cup All Purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup blueberries (frozen or fresh!)

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees (F). Grease muffin tin. Beat egg and stir in milk and oil. In separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Add dry to wet ingredients and mix JUST UNTIL MOISTENED!! DO NOT OVER MIX, AS THIS WILL RESULT IN TOUGH MUFFINS! :) Batter should be lumpy. Fill muffin cups (tin) to 2/3 full. Bake for 15-17 minutes, checking frequently around 14 minutes, until golden brown. Remove immediately from pan. (I run a sharp knife around each one and then lift out. Serve warm with plenty of butter. Enjoy!

*Note: I have made lots of varieties of muffins using this basic recipe! Add in 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1 cup of peeled, diced apples for an Apple Cinnamon version, etc.! So easy to play around and find your fave!

Leave a comment